24 scholar students get science dean’s award in RU

Publish: 6:45 PM, November 9, 2021 | Update: 6:45:PM, November 9, 2021

RAJSHAHI,  – A total of 24 meritorious students under Science Faculty in Rajshahi University (RU) were given dean’s award as recognition of their significant achievement in their respective academic fields. Each of the award-winners was given a medal, crest, certificate and Taka 5,000.

RU authority arranged an award-giving ceremony at the faculty conference hall today largely attended by teachers, students and others concerned. On the occasion, two teachers of the faculty were also given awards in recognition of their scholarly research on the categories of physical and mathematical sciences and chemical and biochemical sciences.

They are: Prof Ismail Tareque of the Department of Population Science and Human Resource Development and Prof Khaled Hossain of the Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology.

RU administration also accorded reception to Prof Saleh Hassan Naquib of the Department of Physics for his fellow selection of The Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS). Vice-chancellor (VC) Prof Golam Sabbir Sattar addressed the ceremony as the chief guest, while Pro-vice-chancellors Prof Chowdhury Jakaria and Prof Sultan-Ul-Islam spoke as special guests with Science Faculty Dean Prof Khalilur Rahman Khan in the chair.

Congratulating the award-winners for their achievements, VC Prof Golam Sabbir hoped that they will contribute a lot towards progress and welfare of the country and the nation as well in the days to come. He also stressed the need for more research on science, engineering, earth science and biology for overall success of the nation.