Paltan clash: Nipun, 12 other BNP activists sent to jail

Publish: 12:07 PM, November 22, 2018 | Update: 12:07:PM, November 22, 2018

BNP Executive Committee member Nipun Roy Chowdhury and 12 others were sent to jail today after completion of their remand term.

They were produced before court today in the three cases filed over clashes at Nayapaltan last week, on November 14.

On the other hand, their defense lawyers pleaded for bail.

Metropolitan Magistrate Shahidul Islam turned down their bail petitions and sent them to jail instead.

Six of the BNP leaders and activists are Arifa Sultana Ruma, Younus Mirdha, Abul Hashim Sabuj, Amir Hossain, Mohosin and Mamun Or Rashid.

One other, Abdus Samad Apel Jamadar, was placed under remand.

During the third day of BNP’s nomination form sale at its Nayapaltan central office in Dhaka, clashes broke out between police and BNP supporters and activists.

While several people including policemen were hurt, two police vehicles were set on fire at the spot and many other vehicles vandalised.

But immediately afterwards, BNP blamed police for an unprovoked attack and urged its supporters to calm down and maintain a peaceful atmosphere.

However, police sued several BNP men in three separate lawsuits after the clashes.

Later that night, examining CCTV footage situated nearby, police arrested 40 people involved in “anarchy” and also identified 30 others.

Senior BNP leaders Mirza Abbas and Ruhul Kabir Rizvi are among the 488 people accused in three cases filed in the aftermath of the clashes.

The cases filed by police with Paltan Police Station mentioned that “the attack” was aimed at creating instability, unrest and anarchy.

Later, more of the activists, leaders, and supporters were arrested.