By-polls to Dhaka-10, Gaibandha-3, Bagerhat-4 on Mar 21

Publish: 7:09 PM, February 6, 2020 | Update: 7:09:PM, February 6, 2020

DHAKA, Feb 6, 2020 (BSS) – The Election Commission (EC) has set March 21 for by-elections to Dhaka-10, Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 seats.

Senior Secretary of EC Secretariat Md Alamgir made the announcement at a press conference after the end of a commission meeting at Agargaon Nirbachan Bhaban here today.

As per the polls schedule, the last date for nomination paper submission is February 19, scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on February 23, the last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 29 and symbol distribution will be held on March 1, he said.

Alamgir said intending candidates can appeal against the decision of returning officers from February 24 to 26 while disposal of appeals will be held on February 28.

The EC senior secretary said among the three parliamentary seats, by-polls to only Dhaka-10 constituency will entirely be held through electronic voting machine (EVM) system.

Gaibandha-3 seat fell vacant since December 27, Dhaka-10 since December 29 and Bagerhat-4 since January 10.

As per the Constitution, there is obligation to hold by-polls within next 90 days since the seat falling vacant.