AL picks Joy for Sirajganj-1, Habib for Dhaka-18 by elections

Publish: 6:42 PM, September 30, 2020 | Update: 6:42:PM, September 30, 2020

DHAKA,– Awami League today nominated Tanvir Shakil Joy and Mohammad Habib Hasan as the party candidates for the upcoming by-polls to Sirajganj-1 and Dhaka-18 constituencies respectively as the Election Commission (EC) has fixed the date for the by polls on November 12.

“As per the decision of the party nomination board, both the candidates got the Awami League tickets for the imminent by polls”, Awami League general secretary Obaidul Quader told a press conference virtually at his parliament bhaban residence here this morning.

Quader, also Road Transport and Bridges Minister, urged all to put aside their differences and work in unison to get the candidates elected in the upcoming polls.

The last date for submitting nomination paper has been fixed on October 13, nomination papers scrutiny on October 15, the schedule date for candidacy withdrawal on October 22 and vote will take place on November 12.

By-polls to the two seats will be held using electronic voting machines (EVM) system.

The Sirajganj-1 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League presidium member and former health minister Mohammad Nasim on June 13 last and the Dhaka-18 fell vacant after the death of Awami League presidium member and former home minister Advocate Sahara Khatun on July 9.