7 top BNP leaders get anticipatory bail

Publish: 3:46 PM, October 3, 2018 | Update: 3:46:PM, October 3, 2018

DHAKA : The High Court on Wednesday granted anticipatory bails to seven top BNP leaders including its secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir in a case filed with Hatirjheel Police station, reports UNB.
An HC bench of Justice Muhammad Abdul Hafiz and Justice Kashefa Hossain passed the order after the BNP leaders appeared before it with bail prayers in the case.
The other leaders are BNP Standing Committee Members Nazrul Islam Khan, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan, the party’s vice-chairmen Amanullah Aman and Ruhul Kuddus Talukder.
Barrister Moudud Ahmed, advocate Zainul Abedin and Barrister Mahabub Uddin Khokon stood for the BNP leaders.
Advocate Zainul Abedin said the HC granted them bail for four weeks till submission of the charge-sheet of the case. The case was filed with Hatirjheel Police Station on charges of preventing police from discharging their duties and for “instigating” subversive activities on October 1.