BCB announces three separate squads for Zimbabwe tour

Publish: 7:34 PM, June 23, 2021 | Update: 7:34:PM, June 23, 2021

DHAKA, —The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) today announced the squad for all three formats of cricket simultaneously for the upcoming Zimbabwe tour with Nurul Hasan Sohan making the cut in every format.

Sohan donned the national team jersey last time in 2018 when Bangladesh toured West Indies for a Test series. The wicket-keeper batsman so far played three Tests, two ODIs and nine T20Is for Bangladesh.

He was rewarded for his consistent performance in domestic cricket.

The selectors put faith in the proven performers for the bilateral series, which consists of one Test, three ODIs and as many T20Is.

Shamim Hossain Patwari, the Under-19 World Cup winning member, is the only new face, being drafted in Bangladesh’s T20 squad. The selectors led by Minhajul Abedin Nannu didn’t include any new face in the ODI or Test squad.

Mushfiqur Rahim, the Bangladesh senior cricketer, would play Test and ODI series but chose to opt out of the T20 series, which the BCB allowed. Mushfiqur was not named in the T20 squad, and his absence paved the way for Shamim Patwari.

Bangladesh will leave the country for Zimbabwe on June 29 after which they will stay quarantined for some days before starting the series with a two-day practice game, scheduled from July 3-4.

Their only Test in the tour is slated from July 7-11 and three ODIs are scheduled on July 16, 18 and 20. The three-match ODI series is the part of ICC ODI Super League. Then they will take on the hosts for a three-match T20 International series, scheduled to be held on July 23, 25 and 27.

All of the matches will be held in Harare Sports Club as both of the teams will stay in bio-bubble in Harare.

Bangladesh squad:

Test: Mominul Haque (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossian Chowdhury, Shoriful Islam

ODI: Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Naim Sheikh, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossian Shaikat, Mohammad Mithun, Afif Hossian, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossian, Shoriful Islam

T20I: Mahmudullah (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Naim Sheikh, Liton Kumar Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarker, Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain Patwari, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Nasum Ahmed, Sheikh Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam.