PM opens national council of Krishak League

Publish: 6:19 PM, November 6, 2019 | Update: 6:19:PM, November 6, 2019

DHAKA, – Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the 10th national council of Bangladesh Krishak League, an associate body of the ruling Awami League (AL), this morning amid fanfare and festivity.

The premier opened the council with releasing pigeons and balloons at the historic Suhrawardy Udyan in the city around 11 in the morning.

Election of new central committee of the Krishak League will be held later at council session at Institution of Engineers, Bangladesh (IEB) auditorium

On April 19 in 1972, Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman founded Bangladesh Krishak League with the slogan of “Save the farmers, save the country”.

Abdur Rob Serniabat was the founding president of Krishak League who was one of the martyrs of August 15, 1975 carnage.

The last council of the organization was held on July 19 in 2012. A 111-member committee was formed through the council making Motahar
Hossain Molla as president and Shamsul Haque Reza as general secretary.