Sultan Mansur takes oath as MP

Publish: 10:02 PM, March 7, 2019 | Update: 10:02:PM, March 7, 2019

DHAKA : Gono Forum MP Sultan Mohammad Mansur (Moulvibazar-2) on Thursday took oath as a member of the 11th Parliament, reports UNB.
Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath around 11 am at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban.
Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Mia, Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury and Whip Iqbalur Rahim were also present.
Talking to reporters later, Mansur said he took the oath on this historic day March 7 to play a role in ensuring the welfare of the people who elected him amid serious adversities on December 30.
He joined parliament as a representative of the Dr Kamal Hossain-led Jatiya Oikyafront. “I took the decision on my own as a representative of Jatiya Oikyafront. But I can say the top-most leader of the Oikyafront has knowledge about what I did.”
As his attention was drawn to Gono Forum leaders’ warning of taking action against him, Mansur said he wants to work for working the people who made him MP. “The party can take any decision, and you should wait for it.”
Stating that he is a follower of Bangabandhu, Mansur said he told his party and alliance after the December-30 election that he would take oath. “I’ve kept my word what I said earlier.”
Replying to a question, the Gono Forum MP admitted that BNP leaders and activists in his seat worked for ensuring his victory. “But I’ll play my role in parliament as a representative of Jatiya Oikya Prokriya.”
Mansur also urged the 7 other MPs-elect of the Oikyafront to take oath so that they can talk about people’s problems and their rights.
Meanwhile, BNP senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi described Mansur’s oath taking violating the Jatiya Oikyafront’s decision as an act of fraudulence in politics.
“His party (Gono Forum) has said it’ll take action against him. I just want to say they’ll turn into mass enemies for breaching commitment and political fraudulence,” he told a press conference.
On March 3, two Gono Forum MPs-elect sent separate letters to the Speaker requesting her to arrange their oath-taking ceremony on historic March 7.
However, Gono Forum’s another MP-elect Mokabbir Khan (Sylhet-2) did not take oath toady due to an ‘avoidable reason’.
BNP along with Gono Forum and some other parties joined the December-30 election in alliance under the banner of Jatiya Oikyafront. BNP bagged six seats while Gono Forum two in the election.
The alliance turned down the election results bringing the allegation of ‘massive vote robbery’ and decided not to join parliament.