EC finalises list of 40,199 polling centres in 300 seats

Publish: 10:29 AM, December 5, 2018 | Update: 10:29:AM, December 5, 2018

DHAKA  The Election Commission (EC) today issued a circular finalising a list of 40,199 polling centres in the 300 seats in the 11th parliamentary election scheduled to be held on December 30.

It was obligatory to publish gazette of all the polling centres by today, EC Deputy Secretary Md Abdul Halim Khan told BSS.

He said the gazettes of all centres have been published within specific timeframe as per the directives of the Commission.

Halim said the EC gave approval to the list of the polling centres sent by returning officers in the 300 parliamentary seats.

Around 10.42 crore voters will exercise their franchise in the next election. Earlier, in August last, about 40,657 proposed centres were listed.

In the 10th parliamentary election, there were 37,707 vote centres against 9.19 crore voters in 300 constituencies.

As per the schedule of the 11th parliamentary election, the last date of nomination paper submission was November 28 while the scrutiny of nomination papers was held on December 2. The deadline for withdrawal of candidature is December 9 next.