65 candidates submit nominations for six seats in Rangpur

Publish: 3:12 PM, November 28, 2018 | Update: 3:12:PM, November 28, 2018

RANGPUR  – Sixty-five candidates finally submitted their nomination papers today for contesting in the six parliamentary constituencies of the district in the eleventh parliamentary election.

“The 65 aspirant candidates from all six constituencies completed submission of their nomination papers by the last date today in peaceful and festive atmosphere,” Returning Officer and Deputy Commissioner of Rangpur Enamul Habib told BSS this evening.

In Rangpur-6 (Pirganj) constituency, eight candidates, including Prime Minister and Awami League (AL) President Sheikh Hasina and Jatiya Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury submitted nomination papers as AL candidates.

Saiful Islam and Khalilur Rahman submitted their nomination papers as BNP candidates for contesting the election from Rangpur-6 constituency in addition to four other candidates from different parities as independents.

In Rangpur-3 (Sadar) seat, twelve candidates, including Jatiya Party Chairman Hussein Muhammad Ershad, BNP candidates Mozaffar Hossain and Rita
Rahman, Shakhawat Ranga (JASOD), Fulu Sarker (Independent), submitted their nomination papers.

In Rangpur-1 (Gangachara) constituency, eleven candidates including Jatiya Party leader and State Minister for LGRD and Cooperatives Mashiur Rahman Ranga, Asaduzzaman Bablu (Independent) and Roich Ahmed (BNP) submitted their nomination papers.

In Rangpur-2 constituency (Taraganj-Badarganj), thirteen candidates including incumbent AL lawmaker Abul Kalam Md Ahsanul Haque Chowdhury, Asaduzzaman Chowdhury Shablu of Jatiya Party, Mohammad Ali Sarker and Mahfuz Un Nabi Don of BNP, Kumaresh Chandra Roy (JASOD) submitted nomination papers.In Rangpur-4 (Kawnia-Pirgachha) constituency, ten candidates, including incumbent AL lawmaker Tipu Munshi, Mostafa Selim Bengal of Jatiya Party, Emdadul Haque Bharsha of BNP have submitted their nomination papers.

In Rangpur-5 (Mithapukur) constituency, eleven candidates including incumbent AL lawmaker HN Ashiqur Rahman, Fakhruzzaman Jahangir of Jatiya Party, Shah Solaiman Alam Fakir and Dr Mamtaz Hossain of BNP have submitted nomination papers.