Mahmudulla shines as Bangladesh in driving seat in Dhaka Test

Publish: 12:05 PM, November 14, 2018 | Update: 12:05:PM, November 14, 2018

DHAKA – A captaincy knock ton came from the bat of Mahmudullah saw Bangladesh are in driving seat as Zimbabwe lost their both openers early to chase the winning target of 443-runs on the fourth day of the second and final Test at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium at Mirpur on Wednesday.

It will be an uphill task for the visitors as they finished the day scoring their second innings at 76 for 2 with Brendon Taylor and Sean Williams were on the crease.

The visitors still need 367 more runs to win the match while Bangladesh need eight more wickets to level the series on the fifth and final day of the game.

Earlier, having dropped Hamilton Masakadza, Mehedi Miraz amended his mistake to claim the wicket of Zimbabwe skipper Masakadza (25) to break the opening partnership.

Following the wicket of Masakadza, Brian Chari (43) also departed from the crease as he perished to Taijul Islam after both the Tigers’ spinners made inroad on Zimbabwe batting lineup before close of the fourth day’s play.

The two openers had played out 22 overs of the third session of the fourth day to give their side a realistic chance of drawing the match — a result which would seal the series 1-0 in their favour.

Both openers were earlier dropped by Miraz. Opener Brian Chari was dropped in the second over off Taijul Islam’s bowling while newcomer Khaled Ahmed, who had worked hard throughout this Test match, looking for his maiden
wicket, saw Masakadza dropped at slip by Miraz.

Mehedi Hasan and Taijul Islam took one Zimbabwe’s wicket each for 16 and 34 runs respectively. Earlier, stand-in skipper Mahmudullah Riad hit his second century and his first after eight years to help Bangladesh set a massive winning target of 443-run for Zimbabwe to win the second Test.

Mahmudullah who brought up his century in the last ball before tea was unbeaten on 101, to steer Bangladesh 224-6 (dec) in its second innings, leaving Zimbabwe a record chase in the fourth innings with four sessions to spare in the match.

He smashed four boundaries and two over boundaries during his 122-ball stay on the crease. During the process of century, Mahmudullah was involved two important partnerships after Zimbabwe fast bowlers Kyle Jarvis (2-27) and
Donald Tiripano (2-31) left Bangladesh in trouble for 25 for 4.

Kyle Jarvis launched early inroad on Bangladesh innings sending both the Tigers ‘openers early in the morning. Opener Imrul Kayes was the first man to go for 3 while Liton Das also followed the footprint of Kayes.

Mominul Haque nicked Tiripano through to Chakabva as Bangladesh were in early trouble in the first session, losing three quick wickets.

Dependable batsman Mushfiqur Rahim, who hit an unbeaten 219 in the first innings, lost his wicket too scoring only seven runs before perished to Tiripono, leaving Bangladesh in deep trouble.

Mahmudullah and Mohammad Mithun then came to a rescue act with a responsible 198-run fifth wicket stand to bring back Bangladesh in match Off spinner Sikandar Raza brike the stubborn partnership removing Mithun for 67,
after his maiden Test 50 following 0 in the first innings. Left-arm spinner Sean Williams dismissed Ariful Haque (4) cheaply but Mahmudullah and Mehidy Hasan shared 73 off 70 balls in an unbroken seventh wicket partnership to set an improbable target for the visitors.

Earlier, back with 218 runs first innings lead after dismissing Zimbabwe their first innings at 304, Bangladesh decided not to enforce Zimbabwe a follow-on on the fourth day.

Brief score:

Bangladesh first innings – 522 for 7(dec), Mushfiqur 219 n.o, Mominul 161, Mehidy 68 n.o, Mahmudullah 36, Jarvis 5/71, Chatara 1/34 and Tiripano 1/65

Second innings – 224 for 6 (dec.), Mahmudullah 101 (batting), Mithun 67, Mehidy 27 (batting), Jarvis 2/27, Tiripono 2/31

Zimbabwe first innings – 304 for all, Taylor 110, Moor 83, Chari 53, Masakadza 14, Taijul 5/107 and Mehidy 3/61

Second innings – 76 for 2, Chari 43, Masakadza 25, Taylor 4 (batting), Williams 2 (batting), Mehidy 1/16 and Taijul 1/34.