Pakistan win toss, bat in first Test against Australia

Publish: 11:39 AM, October 7, 2018 | Update: 11:39:AM, October 7, 2018

DUBAI – Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and opted to bat in the first Test against Australia at Dubai stadium on Sunday.

Pakistan included off-spinner Bilal Asif for his first Test at the age of 33, backing up leg-spinner Yasir Shah.

Australia handed Test caps to Aaron Finch, Travis Head and Marnus Labuschagne in a side containing two spinners in Nathan Lyon and Jon Holland.

The second Test is in Abu Dhabi from October 16.

Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Yasir Shah, Bilal Asif, Mohammad Abbas, Wahab Riaz

Australia: Tim Paine (captain), Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG) and Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV umpire: Sundaram Ravi (IND)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)