BCL names Shovon as president, Rabbani gen secy

Publish: 1:40 PM, August 1, 2018 | Update: 1:40:PM, August 1, 2018

The central executive committee of Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL), the student wing of ruling Bangladesh Awami League (AL), has been announced.

Rezwanul Haque Chowdhury Shovon and Golam Rabbani have been named as president and general secretary of the pro-Awami League student body.

AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader, on behalf of party President Sheikh Hasina, announced the names of the leaders of the new committee on Tuesday night.

He also named leaders of the Dhaka University (DU), Dhaka Metropolitan North and South committees.

Sonjit Chandra Das has become BCL DU unit’s President and Saddam Hussain General Secretary.

Dhaka Metropolitan North BCL has Md Ibrahim as its President and Saidur Rahman Hridoy as General Secretary.

Mehedi Hasan is the new President of BCL Dhaka Metropolitan South and Md Jobayer Ahmed General Secretary.

The 29th council of the BCL was held on May 11-12. AL chief Sheikh Hasina, also the prime minster, announced that the new BCL leadership would be chosen through ‘negotiations’, not through an election.