BD eve take on Ireland eve team in T20 qualifier tomorrow

Publish: 3:25 PM, July 13, 2018 | Update: 3:25:PM, July 13, 2018

DHAKA – Motivated Bangladesh eve cricket team take on Ireland women’s cricket team in the final ICC Women’s T20 qualifier scheduled to be held tomorrow (Saturday) at Utrecht. The match kicks off at 8 pm (BST).

Bangladesh and Ireland lived up to the tag in the eight-team qualifying tournament with convincing semi-final wins over Scotland and Papua New Guinea (PNG). A victory in the final on Saturday will be as much a contest for
bragging rights as it will to validate or reverse the result of the 2015 edition, where Bangladesh finished second behind Ireland.

Either, Bangladesh or Ireland will face West Indies (in Group A) or Australia (in Group B) in the World T20 opener on November 9 and 11 respectively, pending the result in the final.

Ranked ninth and tenth on the ICC multi-format women’s team rankings, the Tigresses finished atop Group A with a 49-run victory against Scotland while Ireland topped Group B by defeating PNG by 27 runs at the venue.

Bangladesh’s entry into the World T20 comes on the back of a maiden Asia- Cup title-winning campaign in June, where they stunned heavyweights India twice.

Squad – Salma Khatun (captain), Ayasha Rahman, Fahima Khatun, Fargana Hoque, Jahanara Alam, Khadija Tul Kubra, Lily Rani Biswas, Nahida Akter, Nigar Sultana (Wicketkeeper), Panna Ghosh, Rumana Ahmed, Sanjida Islam, Shamima Sultana (Wicketkeeper) and Sharmin Sultana.