Lawmakers commended govt initiatives to turn country a progressive one by 202

SANGSAD BHABAN: Lawmakers today commended the government’s various initiatives including formulation of the perspective plan and seventh five-year plan for turning the country into a progressive country within stipulated 2021.

The government under the leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has formulated the perspective plan and seventh five-year plan for achieving 7.4 per cent growth rate which would reach to 8 per cent by the stipulated period of 2021, they said.

Taking part in the discussion on the thanksgiving motion on the President’s address to the House, they hailed Sheikh Hasina for taking forward the country towards development.

Bangladesh is moving towards the super highway of development under the dynamic and visionary leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, said Kamrul Laila Joly.

Referring to Khaleda Zia’s verdict, State Minister for Children and Women Affairs Minister Meher Afroz Chumki said BNP Chief Khaleda Zia has been imprisoned for money laundering case as she didn’t take registration for operating the Zia Orphanage Trust.

Talking about the success of the present government, Chumki said “Bangladesh is now doing progress not in nationally but also in internationally under the leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.”

The International research organization ‘Peoples and Politics’ has recognized and placed Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in ranking three among the leaders of 176 countries in the world, she said.

Jatiya Party member Yahya Chowdhury of Sylhet -2 urged the government to take ‘zero’ tolerance against the rapists for containing the crimes against women and children.

The lawmakers also thanked the President for giving a timely speech highlighting the success stories of the government and guiding the nation towards peace, progress and prosperity.

Earlier, they paid a rich tribute to the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman for his contribution to establishing an independent Bangladesh. Treasury bench lawmakers Joya Sengupta, Whip Mahbub Ara Gini, Jahanara Begum Surma, also addressed in the thanksgiving motion.