Three departments’ names changed at IU

Islamic University – Islamic University (IU) authorities changed the names for three academic departments on Wednesday, reports UNB.

The decision was taken at its 111th academic council meeting with IU vice-chancellor Prof Dr M Harun-Ur-Rashid Askari in the chair.

Among others, IU Pro-VC Prof Dr M Shahinoor Rahman, Treasurer Prof Dr M Selim Toha, IU acting registrar SM Abdul Latif, various faculty deans, departmental chairmen and professors attended at the meeting.

IU acting registrar SM Abdul Latif said they have changed the name of the ‘Law and Muslim Jurisprudence’ department into Department of Law; Al-Fiqh department’s name to Legal Studies; and previously Applied Physics, Electronics and Communication Engineering into the new Electrical and Electronics Department.

The university authorities have changed the names following the demand of the departments’ students.

The decision regarding changing name of the departments would be finalised from the university’s syndicate meeting, he added.