Intellectual killings ignited heroism among Rangpur people

RANGPUR: The planned genocide of intellectuals committed by the Pakistani occupation forces on April 4 in 1971 in Rangpur instantly ignited sleeping heroism in every Bangalee to sparkle the War of Liberation in the northern region, reports BSS.
Earlier, the Pakistani army got frightened witnessing heroism of thousands of Bangalees on March 3 in 1971 when they brought out procession breaking curfew here sacrificing lives of its three heroic sons Sangku Samajhder, Abul Kalam Azad and Omar Ali.
Noticing the insuperable heroism among Rangpur people since beginning of March, the Pakistani occupation forces with local collaborators started planning for cleansing local intellectuals along with innocent Bangalees of this volatile region.
The freedom fighters Rangpur told BSS that the Pakistani hyenas with their local collaborators, including non-Bengali Beharis, caught 11 brilliant Bangalee intellectuals from their houses in the city on March 27 in 1971 in a pre-planned manner.
The occupation forces forcibly took them to Rangpur cantonment and conducted barbaric physical torture in medieval style on them causing unbearable pains for their active role in noncooperation movement and uncompromising patriotism.
Fearing threat of patriotism from the intellectuals of this region, the Pakistani blood-hungry forces with collaborators took them to ‘Dakhiganj Shwashan’ in the city on April 4 in 1971 and gunned them down to make the Bengali nation talent-less.
Incredibly, one of them, then Awami League leader Dr Dinesh Chandra Bhowmick alias Mantu Daktar, who received severe injuries as eight bullets penetrated his body, escaped death.
Later, he joined the ‘Mukti Bahini’ getting proper treatments in neighbouring India and fought the War of Liberation to liberate the country by killing many enemy soldiers in the war fronts.
The martyred intellectuals are Advocate Mahfuz Ali Zorjes, Durga Das Adhikari, Dhirendranath Shanti Chaki, Khitish Halder, Gopal Chandra, Ehsanul Haque Dulal, Tofazzal Hossain Moharram, Rafikul Islam, Uttam Kumar Adhikari and Pagla Darbesh.