Not too far from the Las Vegas strip lies a junkyard filled with huge neon signs – signs that once proudly adorned such famous nightclubs and casinos like Caesars Palace, Binions Horsehoe, Golden Nugget, Silver Slipper and the Stardust. Around 150 of these neon signs, no longer wanted by the businesses that commissioned them, make up the Boneyard of the Neon Museum in Las Vegas.
The collection was originally started by the Young Electric Sign Company, a family owned business began by Thomas Young in 1920, which later became one of Las Vegas’s most innovative sign manufacturer. At that time, YESCO would often lease their signs rather than sell them, so when the signs were decommissioned they would be returned back to the company. Instead of dismantling their signs, YESCO began to store some of their favorites.
Sitting in the company’s backyard, exposed to the elements, these iconic landmarks were slowly being destroyed until they were rescued by a non-profit organization in 1996. The restored signs are now displayed at the Neon Museum located at Las Vegas Boulevard, just north of Bonanza Road and next to Cashman Field Center.